PROCEEDINGS OF THE STATISTICAL AND SOCIAL INQUIRY SOCIETY OF IRELAND.

EIGHTY-FIFTH SESSION, 1931-32.

FIRST MEETING.

The Society met on Thursday, 12th November, 1931, at the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street; the President, Mr. J. C. M. Eason in the Chair.

The following Officers and Council were elected for the Eighty-fifth Session :—

President: Mr. J. C. M. Eason. Hon. Treasurer: Mr. G. E. Shanahan. Hon. Secretary: Mr. R. C. Geary.

Council Misses Lynd and Stafford, Senator Johnson,

DR. ROWLETTE and MESSRS. BARRY, BRENNAN, BROWNE, COLBERT, FITZGERALD, GALLAGHER,

JOHNSTON and LYON.

A vote of thanks to the Royal Irish Academy for giving the Society the use of a room was carried on the motion of Mr. Shanahan, seconded by Mr. Lyon.

Mr. Charles Eason read a paper entitled "Should the Range of Authorised Trustee Investments in the Irish Free State be extended?"

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was passed on the motion of Mr. Justice Meredith, seconded by Mr. Drennan. Messrs. Browne, Shanahan, Colbert, Dockrell, Briscoe, Kennedy, Kinnear and G. E. Smith also took part in the discussion on the paper.

Professor Geo. O'Brien, Captain A. R. S. Nutting and Messrs A. M. Fullerton and J. K. McMillan were formally elected members of the Society.

SECOND MEETING.

The Society met in the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street, on Thursday, 17th December, 1931; the President, Mr. J. C. M. Eason, in the Chair.

Mr. J. P. Colbert read a paper entitled "The Free State Currency Problem."

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was passed on the motion of Professor Geo. O'Brien, seconded by Father Finlay. Messrs. McEntee (a visitor), Johnston, Brennan and R. F. Browne also took part in the discussion on the paper.

Miss I. Mulvany was elected an Honorary Member, and Mr. William Peters an Ordinary Member of the Society.

THIRD MEETING.

The Society met on Thursday, 14th January, 1932, in the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street; the President, Mr. J. C. M. Eason, in the Chair.

Mr. G. A. Duncan read a paper entitled "The Decline of the Country Town."

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was passed on the motion of Mr. Johnston, seconded by Mr. Geary. Mr. McGloughlin and the President also took part in the discussion on the paper.

FOURTH MEETING.

The Society met on Friday, 26th February, 1932, in the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street; the President, Mr. J. C. M. Eason, in the Chair.

Mr. Justice Meredith read a paper entitled "Separate Markets for

Unemployed."

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was proposed by Senator Johnson and seconded by Mr. Gallagher. Two visitors, Messrs. A. E. Wood and T. O'Donnell, took part in the discussion, on the invitation of the President. The meeting adjourned.

The meeting was resumed on Friday, 4th March, in the Royal Irish Academy, when Mr. Justice Meredith, Father Ryan and Messrs. Johnston, Kennedy, Gallagher and the President continued the discussion, Father Ryan and Mr. Kennedy, as visitors, at the invitation of the President.

Messrs. Hubert Briscoe, J. R. Clarke, A. Malcolm and W. R. Wigham

were elected members of the Society.

FIFTH MEETING.

The Society met on Thursday, 12th May, 1932, in the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street; the President, Mr. J. C. M. Eason, in the Chair.

Professor George O'Brien read a paper entitled "Some Ethical and

Economic Aspects of Interest."

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was passed on the motion of Mr. Charles Eason, seconded by Mr. Shanahan. Messrs. Duncan, Peake, Colbert, Prendeville, A. Sparkhall Brown, Clark and the President also took part in the discussion, Mr. Peake, a visitor, at the invitation of the Chairman.

SIXTH MEETING.

The Society met on Thursday, 16th June, 1932, in the Royal Irish Academy, Dawson Street; the President, Mr. J. C. M. Eason, in the Chair.

The outgoing President, Officers and Council were unanimously re-elected for the Session 1932-33.

The President read a paper entitled "Some Tendencies Towards Inelasticity in Contemporary Business," Mr. Shanahan occupying the Chair during the reading of the paper.

On the motion of Professor O'Brien, seconded by Senator Johnson, a vote of thanks to the President was passed. The motion was supported by Mr. Colbert, Dr. Rowlette, Mr. Clarke and Mr. Gallagher.