Government extends requirement for pre departure Covid-19 testing to all countries

From Department of the Taoiseach

Published on 12 January 2021

Last updated on 13 January 2021

The Government has announced the extension of the requirement for a pre-departure negative/not detected PCR tests to passenger arrivals from ALL countries from Saturday 16th January 2021. The test must be taken within 72 hours prior to arrival.

Arrivals from Great Britain and South Africa will continue to require a negative/not detected PCR test AND must continue to isolate for 14 days, even if they take a second test after arrival.

Arrivals from red and grey list countries (as defined by the EU traffic light system), and all other locations outside of Europe, must continue to restrict their movements for 14 days. However this may be lifted on receipt of a negative/not detected result of a second PCR test taken no less than 5 days after arrival.

Arrivals from green and orange countries (as defined by the EU traffic light system) will not be required to restrict their movements on arrival but must adhere to the local public health guidance.

Checks will be made by the Border Management Unit at Dublin Airport and by An Garda Síochána at other points of entry.

Exemptions will be limited to those currently exempt from this requirement, which are international transport workers, including hauliers, pilots and aviation crew, masters and maritime crew, and members of An Garda Síochána in the course of their duties. Children under six will also be exempt.

Further information on international travel is available on Gov.ie